BRICS countries sign joint declaration on cooperation in Intellectual Property

Representatives from South Africa, Brazil, China, India and Russia signed a joint statement reaffirming cooperation among the countries in the field of Intellectual Property during the 10th Meeting of BRICS Heads of Intellectual Property Offices, held in Chengdu, China.
According to the joint declaration, signed on March 26, the main goals of this cooperation are: to promote the development of IP in the five countries; provide better services for users and the general public; and strengthen the participation of BRICS in the development of the global IP system.
In this context, the document addresses topics such as the exchange of experiences on IP legislation; public awareness of the importance of IP so that it is increasingly used, especially by micro, small and medium-sized enterprises; the encouragement of the training of examiners in the area of IP; strengthening the dissemination of IP information; and the cooperation of the BRICS in international forums.
*Translated and adapted from the BPTO’s official webpage. You can check the official publication (in Portuguese) here

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *